๐Ÿฆ‰Open Council

Different constitutional bodies of the Open Council of the Open Constitution network, also shape the protocols of the Self Governance system.

The Open Constitution Network constitutes an Open Council, which depends on pillars of "representational democracy" and is governed by these Articles of Open Constitution.

In the Open Council, representatives of different Councils from the Foundation's community meet, discuss, amend and adopt legal instruments, and coordinate actions of the Foundation, within this Open Constitution.

The Open Council ensures safe, secure and transparent Open Governance, maintenance of the Foundation's "Objectives" and public-facing documentation of "Project" roadmaps.

Open Council members come from diverse fields and sectors and are elected to the Council.

The Foundation's organisation structure is designed to be lateral, and the Council exists to maintain;

  1. Self Governance of network's collective knowledge.

  2. Protection, enforcement and restitution of rights of the Foundation's community.

  3. Council Resolutions and ratifications of community proposals on the Foundation's global activities.

Open Council is foremost constituted of the following Councils:

  1. Advisory Council

  2. Steering Council

  3. Observer Council

  4. Legal Council

  5. Media Council

  6. Ethics Council

  7. Executive Council

  8. Regulations Council

  9. Treasury Council

The rules and procedures, governing the membership rights of citizens, who are appointed to these Councils are described on each Council's instrument.

About Core Working Committees:

Besides the above Open Council bodies, autonomous and self-governing Core Working Committees(CWCs) are associated with these Councils.

There are fundamentally two types of CWCs - Project CWCs contributing to the projects and;

Independent CWCs contribute to the collective affairs of the Foundation, whether these activities are associated with a specific project or not.

A nomination is generally initiated by existing members of the Council. Any Open Council member can nominate any other member of the Foundation's community.

Members can also nominate any person from outside the network's ecosystem, as long as the Open Access guidelines of this Open Constitution have been followed.

Self-nomination is unfortunately not acceptable. All appointments to the Open Council (except the Executive Council itself) are ratified by the electorally appointed Chancellor on behalf of the Executive Council. The Chancellor of the Open Council shall counsel the Independent Board of a Fiscal Host, of all the Local appointments constituted in each election period, and such appointments shall be recorded on public-facing records of Meeting Minutes.

Each body of the Open Council governs itself using this Open Constitution.

Read more on Committee Vote, and Council Vote which the Council members and Core Working Committees(CWCs) use for their proceedings.

Independent Board is the ratification agency for the appointment of the Executive Committee and its President.

For more detailed text on the functioning of these Council Committees, please visit specific pages on each Committee.

If you have been successfully nominated to an Open Council Committee, or appointed last year, please use this link to FILE YOUR NOMINATION DOCUMENTS NOW in the Foundation's Membership Registry.

Read more on relevant constitutional bodies:

An Independent and autonomous Steward Group is also affiliated with the Open Council. Steward Group.

An independent and autonomous Ambassador Council is affiliated with the Open Council. Ambassador Council.

An independent and autonomous Election Council is affiliated with the Open Council. Election Council.

An independent and autonomous Open Tribunal.

Open Tribunal.

Custodian: Election Council

Last updated


Maintained by ยฉ Muellners Foundation. All Rights Reserved.